The Montessori atmosphere for 6-12 year olds

At the age of six any kind of cultivation is received with enthusiasm, knowing that later these seeds will be able to germinate and flourish. When asked how many seeds to sow, I answer: “As much as possible! ". Looking around us, in view of the development of civilization at the current stage of evolution, we will see no limits to what should be offered to the child ” Maria Montessori, Educating the human potential, p.16
Montessori pedagogy for 6-12 year olds


After having built his individual personality through his senses during the first development plan, the child between 5 and 7 years old gradually enters his second phase of development. The elementary years mark the beginning of the search for intellectual independence: the child wants to think for himself. The mathematical mind develops, the ability to reason asserts itself based on previous experiences. He becomes capable of abstracting and imagining.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

The child between 6 and 12 years old is a cultural explorer who opens up to the world and structures his vision of it. As he grows up, he seeks to discover the world beyond the walls of the classroom. The "small outings" meet this need: children in groups of 3 or 4 children can organize an outing on their own, under the supervision of a chaperone. They can go meet a professional who will answer a specific question, go to an exhibition to better understand the work of an artist, etc. The practical organization of this outing is as important as the meeting itself.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

The educational project
In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Each year begins with the telling of the great stories that appeal to the imagination of children and open the chapters they will explore next. These stories address the fundamental questions they ask themselves about the size of the universe, the appearance of life, the origins of man, the invention of writing and numbers.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

The material continues to support children in the abstraction of concepts. The environment is under their responsibility. They discuss the rules during a weekly council. They learn to debate and exchange calmly. Philosophical workshops (educators trained by the SEVE association) allow them to structure their thinking and education in emotions to understand what is happening inside themselves. At the same time, the children learn to manage their work, physically and temporally, while being accompanied if necessary. Presentations and games in English are offered to each child twice a week. The relationship with nature is omnipresent and allows him to develop his ecological awareness.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

The multi-age group provides an environment particularly suited to the development of the social and moral personality of the second plan child who develops his moral sense and builds his concept of justice through his social relations and friendships. Modeling the resolution of non-violent conflicts (cf. M. Rosenberg) makes it possible to propose tools that children can grasp in order to be independent afterwards.

A day with us

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

  • 8:30 am - 9:00 am: Concentration

  • 9 a.m.-12 p.m .: Working time

  • 12h00-12h15: End of work, class jobs, morning report through the diary

  • 12.15 p.m.-1.15 p.m .: Lunch

  • 13h00 - 13h50: Recreation

  • 13:50 to 14:00: Meditation

  • 2:00 p.m. - 4:30 p.m .: Working time

  • 4.30 p.m.-5.00 p.m .: End of work, class jobs, afternoon assessment through the journal, afternoon snack

L'ambiance Montessori des 6-12 ans

« À l'âge de six ans toute sorte de culture est reçue avec enthousiasme, sachant que plus tard ces graines pourront germer et s'épanouir. À la question de savoir combien de graines faut-il semer, je réponds : « Le plus possible ! ». En regardant autour de nous, au vu du développement de la civilisation au stade actuel de l'évolution, nous ne verrons pas de limites à ce qui doit être offert à l'enfant » Maria Montessori, Éduquer le potentiel humain, p.16
La pédagogie Montessori chez les 6-12 ans


Après avoir construit sa personnalité individuelle par le biais de ses sens lors du premier plan de développement, l’enfant entre 5 et 7 ans entre progressivement dans sa deuxième phase de développement. Les années de l’élémentaire marquent le début de la recherche de l’indépendance intellectuelle : l’enfant veut penser par lui-même. L’esprit mathématique se développe, la capacité à raisonner s’affirme en se fondant sur les expériences antérieures. Il devient capable d’abstraire et d’imaginer.

L’enfant entre 6 et 12 ans est un explorateur culturel qui s’ouvre au monde et structure sa vision de celui-ci. A mesure qu’il grandit, il cherche à découvrir le monde au-delà des murs de la classe. Les « petites sorties » répondent à ce besoin : les enfants par groupe de 3 ou 4 enfants peuvent organiser une sortie par eux-mêmes, sous la surveillance d’un chaperon. Ils pourront aller rencontrer un professionnel qui répondra à une question spécifique, aller à une exposition pour mieux comprendre le travail d’un artiste, etc. L’organisation pratique de cette sortie est aussi importante que le rendez-vous lui-même.

​Le projet pédagogie

Chaque année débute par le récit des grandes histoires qui font appel à l’imagination des enfants et ouvrent les chapitres qu’ils exploreront ensuite. Ces récits font aux questions fondamentales qu’ils se posent sur la grandeur de l’univers, l’apparition de la vie, les origines de l’hommes, l’invention de l’écriture et des nombres.

Le matériel continue d’accompagner les enfants dans l’abstraction des concepts. L’environnement est sous leur responsabilité. Ils discutent des règles lors d’un conseil hebdomadaire. Ils y apprennent à débattre et échanger sereinement. Les ateliers philosophiques (éducatrices formées par l’association SEVE) leur permettent de structurer leur pensée et l’éducation aux émotions de comprendre ce qu’il se passe à l’intérieur d’eux-mêmes. Parallèlement, les enfants apprennent à gérer leur travail, physiquement et temporellement, tout en étant accompagné si besoin est. Des présentations ainsi que des jeux en anglais sont offerts à chaque enfant deux fois par semaine. La relation à la nature est omniprésente et lui permet de développer sa conscience écologique.

Le groupe multi-âge fournit un environnement particulièrement adapté au développement de la personnalité sociale et morale de l’enfant du deuxième plan qui développe son sens moral et construit son concept de justice par le biais de ses relations sociales et de ses amitiés. La modélisation de la résolution de conflits non-violent (cf. M. Rosenberg) permet de proposer des outils que les enfants peuvent saisir pour être autonomes par la suite.

Une journée avec nous

    ​

  • 8h30 - 9h : Accueil

  • 9h-11h30 : Temps de travail

  • 11h30 -12h : Fin de travail, jobs de la classe, bilan de la matinée à travers le cahier journal

  • 12h-12h30 : Première récréation

  • 12h30-13h30 : Déjeuner

  • 13h30-14h : Deuxième récréation

  • 14h-14h30 : Temps calme (yoga, pratique de l'attention, art créatif)

  • 14h30-16h30 : Temps de travail

  • 16h30-17h00: Fin de travail, jobs de la classe, bilan de l'après-midi à travers le cahier journal, goûter

© 2023 by Little Tots Preschool.

Proudly created with Wix.com